Clinical and Experimental Student Paper Awards for the Best Written Papers by Graduate Students

Graduate Award

Amount: Clinical Students: 1st Place: $300; 2nd Place: $100 Experimental Students: 1st Place: $300; 2nd Place: $100

Aims and Founders

The aim of these awards is to encourage productivity and quality of publications in the graduate community.

This award is funded by the Department of Psychology and was introduced in 2012.


These awards are open to all graduate students who have at least one first author paper published (or in press) during the academic year. Two 1st Place awards (one for a Clinical student, one for an Experimental student), and two 2nd place awards (again, one for a Clinical student, one for an Experimental student) will be given. Please note: if your paper won last year, you cannot use that same paper to compete for an award again this year.

Applying for the Awards

Students should submit the following:

  1. Their best first-authored paper published or in press during the academic year
  2. A short cover letter specifying their role and degree of involvement in the research reported in the paper


Best Clinical Paper, Ist place

  • Hannah Carlon 2022
  • Elena Stein 2021
  • Victoria Votaw 2020
  • Gabriela Lopez 2019
  • Corey Roos 2018
  • Adam Wilson 2017
  • Corey Roos 2016

Best Clinical Paper, 2nd place

  • Megan Kirouac 2018
  • Robert Bailey 2017
  • Robert Bailey 2016

Best Experimental Paper, lst place

  • Brett Anderson 2022
  • Carlos Maestas-Olguin 2021
  • Benjamin Gibson 2020
  • Jacqueline Janowich 2019
  • J. Michael Maurer 2018
  • Daniel Barto 2017
  • J. Michael Maurer 2016

Best Experimental Paper, 2nd place

  • Benjamin Gibson 2019
  • Darin Brown 2018