The Haught Distinguished Graduate Lecture Award

Graduate Award

Amount: $1,000

Aims and Founders

The aim of this award is to honor a doctoral candidate who demonstrates research excellence and professional integrity. The awarded doctoral candidate will be invited to present a lecture, and will be presented with a personal plaque commemorating the award. The student’s name will also be engraved on the public plaque listing winners of the Haught Lecture Award in the Graduate Student Lounge, Department of Psychology, UNM.

Founded by his family, this award is made in honor of Dr. Benjamin Franklin Haught (1881-1961), a graduate of George Peabody College for Teachers who joined UNM in 1921 as a Professor of Psychology. He taught and conducted research in developmental psychology, psychometrics and later in cross-cultural topics for 25 years. In 1927, Dr. Haught became Head of the Graduate School.


This award is open to all doctoral candidates (i.e., students who have passed the doctoral comprehensive examination and have advanced to candidacy). Students currently in residence or recent graduates who have defended their dissertation within the past year are also eligible for this award.

Applying for the Awards

Students should submit the following:

  1. A letter of nomination from a Faculty Member
  2. A description of their program of research
  3. A Curriculum Vitae
  4. A representative publication


  • 2023-Victoria Votaw
  • 2022-Elena Stein
  • 2021-Kelsey Serier
  • 2020-Adam Wilson
  • 2019-Justina Avila-Rieger
  • 2018-Corey Roos
  • 2017-Andrei Vakhtin
  • 2016-Patrick Coulombe